Department of Communications
  • Broadcasting
  • Communication Studies
  • Journalism
  • Public Relations
  • Theater

jump to a concentration

Broadcasting

Communication Studies

Journalism

Public Relations

Theatre

Students » Clubs & Organizations

Misc. image of Dept. Communications

Katie Beth Walton-volunteer, Laura Goldman-Communication Ambassador and Tracy Frazier-Communication Ambassador at 2012 Golf Tournament

Emma Hawes-volunteer and Sarah Burgess-Communcation Ambassador at 2012 Golf Tournament

Ambassadors Trevor Pruitt, Jordan Wheeler and Advisor Emily Cain at 2012 Golf Tournament

Student Layne Moritz at 2012 SPRF Conference in Destin, FL

Megan McKeown reporting for Take 30 News

Communication Ambassadors

The Communication Ambassadors is an organization in which students serve as representatives of the Department of Communication. The Ambassadors assist the department in various activities such as orientations, golf tournament and prospective student tours. For more information, contact Emily Cain at (662) 325-3779 | ecain@comm.msstate.edu or Khristi Edmonds at (662) 325-8942 | kedmonds@comm.msstate.edu

Contact an Ambassador

iCapture MSU

iCapture MSU is a student organization open to any Mississippi State student interested in photography. In regular meetings throughout the academic school year, students will learn the latest trends and techniques in photography through tutorials and guest speakers. iCapture MSU is open to students of all skill levels and does not require students to own a camera.

For more information, contact Teresa Gawrych by phone at (662) 325-8947 or email tgawrych@comm.msstate.edu

Lab Rats Comedy & Improv

Lab Rats Comedy & Improv is a student theatre organization that performs improve pieces and provides assistance backstage, in the shops, and other areas of Theatre MSU's productions. If you are interested, contact Cody Stockstill at (662)-325-7954 | cstockstill@comm.msstate.edu

Blackfriars Drama Society

The primary purpose of Blackfriars Drama Society is to promote and support theatre as an art form, the theatre production process, student leadership in the arts and theatre artists on Mississippi State University’s campus and in the local community. We are open to all theatre fans, practitioners and audience members of the MSU community. If interested, contact Melanie Harris at (662)-325-9162| melanieharris@comm.msstate.edu

Public Relations Association of Mississippi (PRAM)

PRAM is a regional organization comprised of college students and the best public relations practitioners in Mississippi. A membership provides access to workshops and conferences, PRism Awards, study programs for Accreditation, as well as membership in the Southern Public Relations Federation. SPRF joins Mississippi PR practitioners and students with others in Alabama, Louisiana, and the Emerald Coast of the Florida Panhandle. For more information, contact Dr. John Forde, APR at (662) 325-3320 | jforde@comm.msstate.edu

PRAM Registration Form

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the largest pre-professional organization for public relations students in the nation. PRSSA seeks to advance the PR profession through rigorous academic standards for public relations education, the highest ethical principles and diversity in the profession. For more information, contact Dr. John Forde, APR at (662) 325-3320 | jforde@comm.msstate.edu or Karyn Brown at (662) 325-7952 | kbrown@comm.msstate.edu

PRSSA Registration Form

Student Broadcasting Association (SBA)

The Student Broadcasting Association offers communication students the opportunity to travel and experience real-world broadcasting. SBA holds fundraisers and participates in campus activities. For information, contact Teresa Gawrych at (662) 325-8947 | tgawrych@comm.msstate.edu