Skip to:

Department of Communications
  • Broadcasting
  • Communication Studies
  • Journalism
  • Public Relations
  • Theater

jump to a concentration


Communication Studies


Public Relations



The Department of Communication Advisory Board began in the fall of 2006 to enhance the relationships between the department and alumni and friends. In addition, this partnership is encouraging more direct involvement by alumni and friends with our majors and the university in general. Participants are assisting the department with internship opportunities, career outlooks, Web page development, newsletters and other communication channels, special event planning (including speaking events on campus and Communication career fairs), student recruiting, faculty recruiting, general development and fundraising, exit interviews and related research, course needs, and other activities.

New Member List (PDF)

Professional Connection Forum - Spring 2019

Professional Connection Forum - Spring 2018

Current Members (May 2019)

Ronnie Agnew

Executive Director Mississippi Public Broadcasting
Mississippi State University: Starkville, MS

John Arledge

Vice President of Public Affairs
Entergy: Jackson, MS

Elizabeth Barnick

Strategic Human Resources Leader

Bobby Berry

Chief Operating Officer
Morris Network: Macon, GA

Lorraine W. Boykin, Esq.

Currie Johnson Griffin Gaines & Myers, P.A.: Jackson, MS

Linda Breazeale

Senior Extension Associate
Agricultural Communications: Starkville, MS
Office - (662) 325-1717
Home - (662) 323-3340
Bost Extension Center, Rm 101

Kristi Brown

Senior Consultant
Training & Development, Economic Development
Tennessee Valley Authority: Starkville, MS

Layne Bruce

Executive Director
Mississippi Press Association/MPA
Education Foundation: Jackson, MS

Rex Buffington

Stennis Center for Public Service: Starkville, MS &
Washington D.C.

Greg Carlisle

Instructor of Theatre
Morehead State University: Morehead, KY

Stephen Cunetto

Administrator of Systems
Mississippi State University Libraries: Starkville, MS

Chuck Dunlap

Associate Director of Media Relations
Southeastern Conference: Birmingham, AL

Kayla Farris

Guidance Counselor
Presbyterian Christian School: Hattiesburg, MS

Kim Foster, APR

Foster Relations: Tupelo, MS

Peggy Gardner

Senior Director of Public Relations
UPS: Atlanta, GA

David Garraway

Video Program Manager
MSU University Television Center: Starkville, MS

Anna Minor Grizzle

Bass, Berry & Sims: Nashville, TN

Amy Hall

Registered Nurse
Home Health Infusion Specialist
Express-Scripts: Mobile, AL

Ellen Weaver Hartman, APR, Fellow PRSA

President and CEO
Hartman Public Relations, LLC: Atlanta, GA

Brian Hawkins

Marketing Manager
Buffalo Wild Wings, Bulldog BWW, LLC: Starkville, MS
Public Relations Coordinator for United Way of North Central (part-time)

Checky Herrington, APR, Fellow

Market Research Analyst
Office of Public Affairs, MSU

Chenoa Jacobs

Executive Assistant
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Chenoa Jacobs Events: Nashville, TN

Joe Lee

Owner, Editor-in-Chief
Dogwood Press: Brandon, MS

Jamey Logan

Digital Content Manager
BancorpSouth Corporate Managing

Kendall McCarter

Chief Development Officer
Tennessee Wildlife Federation: Jackson, TN

Laura McPhail

Communications Manager

Adrienne Morris

Learning and Development Specialist
Human Resource Management
Mississippi State University

Tony Morreale

Public Relations Manager
Turner Sports: Atlanta, GA

Mary Hampton Nicholas

Strategic Communications & Public Affairs Consultant
Capitol Resources, LLC: Jackson, MS

Ed Noles

Senior Project Manager and Team Leader
10up: Birmingham, AL

Sheri Pape

Higher Education Marketing Manager
CBORD: Duluth, GA

Jim Prince

Neshoba County Democrat: Philadelphia, MS

Derek Rogers

General Manager
WCBI-TV: Columbus, MS

Marc Rolph

Director of Public Affairs
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Stuart Roy

Strategic Action Public Affairs: Washington, DC

Brandon Scordino

Vice President Technology Integration & Planning
Motion Industries, Inc: Birmingham, AL

Steve Soltis

Group Director, Employee and Leadership
The Coca-Cola Company: Atlanta, GA

Tommy Starkey

Florida Fabrication: Orlando, FL

Jessi Stevenson

Public Speaking Instructor/Director of ICC Theatre
Ittawamba Community College:Fulton, MS

Kyle Steward

Executive Director of External Affairs
Office of the President
Mississippi State University: Starkville, MS

Colby Swann

Vice President of Marketing
Old Time Pottery: Murfreesboro, TN

Connie Lillo-Thieman

Children’s Ministry Pastor, Western Regional
Desert Vineyard: Lancaster, CA

Malcolm (Mac) Wall

Executive Director (retired)
Kentucky Educational Television

John Walker

Founder & Managing Partner
Chirp: Atlanta, GA

Blake Walters

Customer Success Manager
Planview - Austin, TX

Paige Watson

Special Events & Projects Coordinator
Greater Starkville Development Partnership

Jenny Wilburn

Senior Content Marketing Manager
Invista: Kennesaw, GA

Clay Williams

Executive Director
Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport; Gulfport, MS

Wanda Williams

Deputy Freedom of Information Act Officer/Archivist
National Archives and Records Administration

Camille Scales Young

Principal & Director
Cornerstone Government Affairs: Jackson, MS