Skip to:

Department of Communications
  • Broadcasting
  • Communication Studies
  • Journalism
  • Public Relations
  • Theater

jump to a concentration

Broadcasting

Communication Studies

Journalism

Public Relations

Theatre

Overview

The Department of Communication Advisory Board began in the fall of 2006 to enhance the relationships between the department and alumni and friends. In addition, this partnership is encouraging more direct involvement by alumni and friends with our majors and the university in general. Participants are assisting the department with internship opportunities, career outlooks, Web page development, newsletters and other communication channels, special event planning (including speaking events on campus and Communication career fairs), student recruiting, faculty recruiting, general development and fundraising, exit interviews and related research, course needs, and other activities.

New Member List (PDF)

Professional Connection Forum - Spring 2019

https://youtu.be/UjCeZBKwp9g

Professional Connection Forum - Spring 2018

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q68_qK9COEw

Current Members (May 2019)

John Arledge

Vice President of Public Affairs
Entergy: Jackson, MS
jarled1@entergy.com
www.entergy-mississippi.com

Elizabeth Barnick

Strategic Human Resources Leader
Elistate01@aol.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/elizabeth-barnick-hrpm-12981112/

Bobby Berry

Chief Operating Officer
Morris Network: Macon, GA
bberry@morrisnetwork.com

Lorraine W. Boykin, Esq.

Attorney
Currie Johnson Griffin Gaines & Myers, P.A.: Jackson, MS
lboykin@curriejohnson.com
www.curriejohnson.com

Kristi Brown

Senior Consultant
Training & Development, Economic Development
Tennessee Valley Authority: Starkville, MS
kvbrown@tva.com
www.tva.gov

Layne Bruce

Executive Director
Mississippi Press Association/MPA
Education Foundation: Jackson, MS
lbruce@mspress.org
www.mspress.org

Rex Buffington

Director
Stennis Center for Public Service: Starkville, MS &
Washington D.C.
rex@stennis.gov
www.stennis.gov

Stephen Cunetto

Administrator of Systems
Mississippi State University Libraries: Starkville, MS
scunetto@library.msstate.edu
www.lib.msstate.edu

Chuck Dunlap

Associate Director of Media Relations
Southeastern Conference: Birmingham, AL
cdunlap@sec.org
www.secsports.com

William Folkes

Promotions Producer, WFTV, Channel9, Eyewitness News
Orlando, FL
williamfolkes@gmail.com

Kim Foster, APR

Owner
Foster Relations: Tupelo, MS
kim@fosterrelations.com
www.fosterrelations.com

Peggy Gardner

Senior Director of Public Relations
UPS: Atlanta, GA
pgardner@ups.com

David Garraway

Video Program Manager
MSU University Television Center: Starkville, MS
david.garraway@utc.msstate.edu
www.utc.msstate.edu

Anna Minor Grizzle

Attorney
Bass, Berry & Sims: Nashville, TN
agrizzle@bassberry.com
www.bassberry.com

Ellen Weaver Hartman, APR, Fellow PRSA

President and CEO
Hartman Public Relations, LLC: Atlanta, GA
ellen@hartmanpr.com
www.hartmanpr.com

Brian Hawkins

Marketing Manager
Buffalo Wild Wings, Bulldog BWW, LLC: Starkville, MS
Public Relations Coordinator for United Way of North Central (part-time) hawkins39759@gmail.com
www.buffalowildwings.com

Checky Herrington, APR, Fellow
PRSA

Market Research Analyst
Office of Public Affairs, MSU
checky.herrington@opa.msstate.edu
www.opa.msstate.edu

Joe Lee

Owner, Editor-in-Chief
Dogwood Press: Brandon, MS
jlee@dogwoodpress.com
http://www.dogwoodpress.com
http://thelittlepublisherthatcould.blogspot.com

Jamey Logan

Vice President of Marketing – Content Director
Renasant Bank: Tupelo, MS
jamey.logan@renasant.com

Kendall McCarter

Chief Development Officer
Tennessee Wildlife Federation: Jackson, TN
kmccarter@tnwf.org
www.tnwf.org

Laura McPhail

Communications Manager
nSPARC
lkm3@msstate.edu
http://www.nsparc.msstate.edu

Mary Hampton Nicholas

Strategic Communications & Public Affairs Consultant
Capitol Resources, LLC: Jackson, MS
mnicholas@capitolresourcesllc.com

Ed Noles

Senior Project Manager and Team Leader
10up: Birmingham, AL
ednoles@gmail.com

Derek Rogers

General Manager
WCBI-TV: Columbus, MS
drogers@wcbi.com
http://www.wcbi.com/

Marc Rolph

Director of Public Affairs
University of Mississippi Medical Center
mrolph@umc.edu
www.umc.edu

Stuart Roy

President
Strategic Action Public Affairs: Washington, DC
sroy@sapublicaffairs.com

Steve Soltis

Group Director, Employee and Leadership
Communications
The Coca-Cola Company: Atlanta, GA
ssoltis@gmail.com www.worldofcoca-cola.com

Tommy Starkey

Owner
Florida Fabrication: Orlando, FL
tommy@floridafabrication.net

Jessi Stevenson

Public Speaking Instructor/Director of ICC Theatre
Ittawamba Community College:Fulton, MS
jpstevenson@iccms.edu

Kyle Steward

Executive Director of External Affairs
Office of the President
Mississippi State University: Starkville, MS
ksteward@pres.msstate.edu
www.msstate.edu

Kathryn B. Stewart

Senior Government Relations Advisor
Butler
Snow LLP : Jackson, MS
Kathryn.Stewart@butlersnow.com

Colby Swann

Vice President of Marketing
Old Time Pottery: Murfreesboro, TN
cswann@otpinc.com
www.oldtimepottery.com

Connie Lillo-Thieman

Children’s Ministry Pastor, Western Regional
Representative
Desert Vineyard: Lancaster, CA
cmlt80@aol.com
www.vineyardusa.org

Malcolm (Mac) Wall

Executive Director (retired)
Kentucky Educational Television
macwall47@gmail.com

John Walker

Founder & Managing Partner
Chirp: Atlanta, GA
john@chirpPR.com
https://www.chirppr.com

Blake Walters

Customer Success Manager
Planview - Austin, TX
s.blake.walters@gmail.com
662-332-3474

Paige Watson

Special Events & Projects Coordinator
Greater Starkville Development Partnership
pwatson@starkville.org
https://www.starkville.org

Jenny Wilburn

Senior Content Marketing Manager
Invista: Kennesaw, GA
jenny.wilburn@gmail.com
http://www.invista.com

Clay Williams

Executive Director
Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport; Gulfport, MS
cwilliams@flygpt.com
www.flygpt.com

Wanda Williams

Deputy Freedom of Information Act Officer/Archivist
National Archives and Records Administration : Washington, DC
wanda.williams@nara.gov

Camille Scales Young

Principal & Director
Cornerstone Government Affairs: Jackson, MS
cyoung@cgagroup.com
www.cgagroup.com