Skip to:

Department of Communications
  • Broadcasting
  • Communication Studies
  • Journalism
  • Public Relations
  • Theater

jump to a concentration


Communication Studies


Public Relations


Two communication professors win national broadcast awards

February 12, 2020 (Wednesday)
The 2020 Broadcast Education Association awards have been announced and two faculty in the Department of Communication have earned honors for their creative scholarship. Instructor Jason Hibbs, and Department Head Terry Likes, were among over 1,700 who entered the BEA Festival of Media Arts.
In the category of Television Hard News Reporting, Hibbs won Best of Competition for his multimedia compilation from his freelance work for WCBI-TV. For Hibbs, it is his first BEA award. Earlier this month, Hibbs was also honored by the National Broadcasting Society for his work on a screenplay.
In the category of Feature News Reporting, Likes won an Award of Excellence for his report, Fake News Blues: A Credibility Crisis for Journalism. The report aired in December on WMSV-FM. For Likes, it is his fifteenth BEA award in the last twenty years.
The BEA Festival of Media Arts represented over 300 colleges and universities in the following competitions: audio, documentary, film & video, interactive multimedia, international, news, scriptwriting, sports and two-year colleges. BEA's Festival of Media Arts winners will be spotlighted at the BEA annual convention in Las Vegas, April 18-21.