Communication Rudos

May 2020

AWARDS, HONORS & APPOINTMENTS:

Cheryl Chambers, the MSU speech and debate team advisor, won the 2019-2020 Student Organization Advisor of the Year in the MSU Center for Student Activities Student Choice Awards.

Dr. Melody Fisher won the 2019-2020 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching selected by Communication Department Head Terry Likes. Fisher demonstrates a commitment to innovate in the classroom to a diverse student body molding qualified job and graduate school candidates. She keeps up to date in an ever-changing media landscape and challenges her students to encounter public relations in a wider global context. Students rave about her teaching.

Amy Fountain won the 2019-2020 Faculty Award for Excellence in Service selected by Communication Department Head Terry Likes. Fountain coordinates the CO 1003/1013 courses and instruction providing countless hours of assistance. She also coordinates the CO internship program, creates literature, social media and bulletin board materials for the intern program, visits classes to promote internships and conducts internship interest meetings. She served a vital role as we transitioned academic advisors in the fall. Fountain served on numerous departmental committees including the search for a new head, search for instructors, scholarship committee, search for a new advisor and serves on the curriculum committee. She provided internship lectures for PRSSA students and provided a Career Center workshop. She is a Lambda Sigma board member and student chapter advisor.

Nicole Harmon was appointed to the National Panhellenic Conference College Panhellenics Committee to serve a two-year term. NPC is the premier advocacy and support organization for the advancement of the sorority experience among all sororities.

Nicole Harmon was selected as an Online Advanced Placement (AP) Reader/Rater for Summer 2020. AP Readers/Raters evaluate and score students' responses to high school AP Exams during one week of the summer. Normally, AP Readers/Raters travel to particular destinations but, because of COVID-19, all AP Exam grading will be done online this year.

Christie Jones Lawrence was named chairman of the Mentoring Committee for the Mississippi University for Women Alumni Association.

Giles Lindley won the 2019-2020 Outstanding Lecturer Award selected by Communication Department Head Terry Likes. Lindley constantly gives of his time to the department and for his students. Despite his so-called retirement, he teaches a variety of sections, is a regular attendee of the Communication Pedagogy Roundtable and is admired and respected by colleagues and students. For his fall courses, students rated him at 4.8, 4.9 and 4.9 for his three sections. Student comments included: "Best course, best professor" to "Lindley is an amazing professor. He cares about his students and is extremely personable. This class helped me find my career paths that I did not know were available. I would highly recommend him to anyone."

AWARDS, HONORS & APPOINTMENTS, continued:

Dr. Melanie Loehwing won the 2019-2020 Faculty Award for Excellence in Research selected by Communication Department Head Terry Likes. Loehwing propelled her research output to a very high level, winning the National Communication Association's highest honor, the Diamond Anniversary Book Award. She conducted multiple presentations at a variety of organizations at the national, regional and state level. Loehwing submitted several grant proposals and was awarded three at a total of over \$12,000. She continues meaningful work at the Social Science Research Center.

Dr. Holli Seitz was selected as the 2020 recipient of the MSU Alumni Association's Early Career Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award. More information is available at https://www.msstate.edu/newsroom/article/2020/05/msu-announces-annual-faculty-staff-academic-award-recipients

Dr. Kevin Williams was elected to serve a three-year term with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication's (AEJMC) Standing Committee on Teaching. The Committee on Teaching is concerned with: standards of academic and professional preparation for teachers in the field; standards of appointment, tenure, promotion, compensation, research and retirement for teachers; minimum standards of equipment and facilities for instruction and research; and standards of faculty-administration relationships.

INTERVIEWS:

Dr. Holli Seitz was recently interviewed about her research for an investigative report on COVID-19 public service announcement Read more: https://www.msstate.edu/newsroom/article/2020/04/msu-communication-assistant-professor-tapped-media-interview-success

PRESENTATIONS:

Dr. John Forde served as moderator and panelist for the PRSA Southwest District's virtual APR month panel on April 1. The goal of the virtual program was to promote APR for April APR month, talk about the APR process, explain APR benefits, and disucss APR preparation methods.

Dr. Terri Hernandez and Dr. Melody Fisher presented their paper Student-led PR firms: Students' reported learning outcomes in newly launched agency as compared to industry entry level job preferences at the 2020 annual conference of the International Public Relations Research Conference, Orlando, FL.

Christie Jones Lawrence presented at a Mississippi Alliance virtual workshop in May. The presentation was titled Working Remotely & Managing Virtual Teams.

PUBLICATIONS:

Hernandez, T., & Sarge, M. A. (2020). Plenty of (similar) fish in the sea: The role of social identity and self-categorization in niche dating. Computers & Human Behavior, 110. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2020.106384