Awards & Honors
MSU students win Award of Excellence in 2021 Broadcast Education Association Audio challenge

Six MSU students won an Award of Excellence in the 2021 Broadcast Education Association 48-hour Audio challenge.

The winning cast and crew include: Myracle Evans, Communication major with concentrations in Broadcasting & Digital Journalism; Walker Harris, Communication major with concentrations in Broadcasting & Journalism; Jeremiah Joswick, Art major with a concentration in Photography; Chris LoNigro, Communication major with concentrations in Broadcasting & Public Relations; Makayla Smith, Sociology major; and Hannah Vandie, Communication major with a concentration in Broadcasting.

The challenge required teams to make their audio program in a pre-assigned genre, and they were provided with “production constants.” MSU’s winning audio was produced and recorded March 5-7. 

The BEA Student Media Club chapter president, Hannah Vandie, says, “It was an extremely amazing process, and I enjoyed working with each member of the team.”

Last year, the Department of Communication created a student media club affiliated with the Broadcast Education Association, which is also a student organization on campus. In the BEA Audio Challenge last March, students won Honorable Mention. In the fall, students won first place in the BEA Film Challenge. In competing in these Film (fall) and Audio (spring) BEA production challenges, MSU has won or placed all three times it has competed.